US singer Taylor Swift (“Anti-Hero”) won the coveted trophy for Video of the Year at the MTV Video Music Awards. In the top category, the 33-year-old beat, among others, Miley Cyrus (“Flowers”), Nicki Minaj (“Super Freaky Girl”) and the German Kim Petras, who was nominated for “Unholy” together with the Brit Sam Smith was. Swift picked up other awards, including song of the year and best director.

The trophies from the music channel MTV were awarded on Tuesday evening (local time) at the Prudential Center in Newark (US state of New Jersey).

The Colombian singer Shakira (46) accepted the honorary “Video Vanguard Award”. The trophy pays tribute to the winner’s influence on the music scene. Previous winners include Missy Elliott, Jennifer Lopez, Pink, Rihanna, Beyoncé, Justin Timberlake and Madonna. US rapper Sean “Diddy” Combs (53) was honored with the “Global Icon Award”.

The VMA awards have been presented since 1984. Fans can vote for their favorites online. The trophy is a “Moonman” – a little astronaut on the moon who holds an MTV flag in his hand.