The Eisbären Berlin equalized in a fast-paced second final game for the German ice hockey championship against the Fischtown Pinguins from Bremerhaven. The nine-time champion won against the final newcomers 5:3 (1:0, 3:3, 1:0).

In the high-class game, national players Leo Pföderl (19th minute/30th) and Jonas Müller (39th/47th) each scored double packs. Blaine Byron (25th) also scored for the preliminary round runner-up, who lost the first final of the best-of-seven series 2:4 on Wednesday. In front of 14,200 spectators in the sold-out hall, Jan Urbas (29th/32nd) and Ziga Jeglic (35th) scored for the main round winner from Bremerhaven.

Eisbären striker Noebels injured

What was bitter for the Eisbären was the injury to national striker Marcel Noebels, who left the ice in great pain in the second third. It is unclear whether the 2018 Olympic silver medalist and 2023 runner-up world champion can play again in the third final game in Bremerhaven on Sunday (3:30 p.m./MagentaSport and DF1).

Four wins are necessary for the championship title. It would be the first championship for Bremerhaven. The Eisbären have won all of their nine titles so far in the German Ice Hockey League, which was founded in 1994. Since then, no team has been champion more often than the Eisbären.

The spectators experienced a spectacle with crazy speed and great individual actions. Noebels prepared Berlin’s first two goals brilliantly. Pföderl scored his third final goal in the young series, and Müller was particularly impressive with his second goal with a solo. Captain Urbas scored his playoff goals six and seven for Bremerhaven.