One of the most anticipated competitions of the most current, youngest and most colorful sailing season was presented at the Marina Coruña facilities: the Spanish Catamaran Cup. The event was attended by the head of sports of the Herculean council, Mónica Martínez Lema, and with the head of sports of Marina Coruña José Ramón Pardo “Pichis” and the president of the Royal Galician Sailing Federation, Manuel Villaverde.

Marina Coruña thus relieves the Real Club Náutico de Valencia, undoubtedly one of the best clubs in southern Europe, in the organizational tasks and with the intention of also holding a great event. There will be some thirty multihulls in competition, with two especially stronger and more numerous classes: the F18 and the spectacular Class A, in which most of the participants fall.

The layouts are of the windward-leeward type with four course markers and a start-finish jack zone… lasting about one hour. If everything goes well there will be 9 maximum sleeves; of which two are necessary to validate the Spanish Cup. An extra incentive is that the participants will be able to discard their worst score as long as four rounds have been played.

Pilar Sánchez del Campo, from Murcia, has been appointed by the Royal Spanish Sailing Federation as the sole judge, who will have Carlos Alfonso Ladrón de Guevara, also from Murcia, as president of the technical committee, and Jaime García from A Coruña and Manuel Rodríguez Moreno from Olivia complete the staff.

Class A stands out for its high level… with Gustavo Doreste and the Catalans Andrés Grau and José López as favourites. A category in which José Martínez de Ubago from the Náutico de La Coruña competes, Raúl Franco from Cadiz from Puerto Sherry, Salvador Sánchez Postigo from Malaga, as well as Quique Cornejo from the Real Club Náutico de Barcelona and the Coruñeses from Playa de Oza:: Carlos Ameixenda and Alberto Martinez.

In F18 the Náutico Vilanova de Barcelona presents three units: Polimeni-Bargalló, Jovano-Sanz and Migoya-Torné. Torredembarra de Tarragona Nuet-Aldea, while the Náutic Garraf presents Philip Griffiths and David Rosel… and the Castelldefels Enrique de la Oren and Alexis Parcerisa. The list is completed by Diego and Alvaro Carral from the Náutico Cabanas de Ferrolterra, Jaime Arañújo from Marina Coruña, Wyatt Orsmond-Esteban Martínez La Colina from the Real Club Náutico de La Coruña, and two units from the Real Club Náutico de Vigo: Manuel García Cameselle-Florent Camescase and Luis Maria Gonzalez-Javier Gonzalez.