T20 World Cup 2024: South Africa Clinches Victory Over Bangladesh in Group Stage

South Africa emerged victorious in a thrilling Group D match against Bangladesh, securing a narrow four-run win and securing their spot in the T20 World Cup Super Eight stage. Opting to bat first, South Africa faced early struggles, but Heinrich Klaasen’s 46 and David Miller’s 29 helped them reach a total of 113 for six.

Bangladesh, in pursuit of the target, also faced challenges in scoring. Despite efforts from Towhid Hridoy and Mahmudullah, the team fell short of the mark. With six runs needed from the final two balls, Mahmudullah’s attempt to clear the boundary was caught by Aiden Markram off spinner Keshav Maharaj, who finished with figures of 3-27.

This victory marked South Africa’s third win in the group stage, with Bangladesh now facing a tougher road ahead in the tournament after one win and one loss in their fixtures.

T20 World Cup 2024: Group Stage Results

**Group A**
1. India – Victories against Ireland and Pakistan
2. USA – Victories against Canada and Pakistan
3. Canada – Victory against Ireland, defeat against USA
4. Pakistan – Defeats against USA and India
5. Ireland – Defeats against India and Canada

**Group B**
1. Scotland – Victories against Namibia and Oman, tied with England
2. Australia – Victories against Oman and England
3. Namibia – Victory against Oman, defeat against Scotland
4. England – Defeats against Australia, tie with Scotland
5. Oman – Defeats against Australia, Scotland, and Namibia

**Group C**
1. Afghanistan – Victories against Uganda and New Zealand
2. West Indies – Victories against PNG and Uganda
3. Uganda – Victory against PNG, defeats against Afghanistan and West Indies
4. PNG – Defeats against West Indies and Uganda
5. New Zealand – Defeat against Afghanistan

**Group D**
1. South Africa – Victories against Sri Lanka, Netherlands, and Bangladesh
2. Bangladesh – Victory against Sri Lanka, defeat against South Africa
3. Netherlands – Victory against Nepal, defeat against South Africa
4. Nepal – Defeat against Netherlands
5. Sri Lanka – Defeats against South Africa and Bangladesh

*(Inputs from Agencies)*