Handball Bundesliga club SC Magdeburg won in three categories at the German Handball Awards 2022. At the second award ceremony by the specialist portal “handball-world.news” and the magazine “Bock auf Handball”, Gisli Kristjansson was named “Public Favorite 2022”, Bennet Wiegert was named Coach of the Year and the championship team of SC Magdeburg was named Team of the Year .

A jury of experts had proposed nominees in eleven categories, which could then be voted on. Almost 200,000 votes were cast in January in the various categories. The exception was the category “Public Favourite”, for which 450 suggestions were submitted by handball fans: 30 candidates were up for election, and Magdeburg’s Kristjansson prevailed in the end. “I’m super proud and thank you for the award,” said the Iceland international.

Wiegert, master trainer of SC Magdeburg, won the award as trainer of the year for the second time. “Thank you to everyone who voted. Bennet Wiegert is now on the trophy, but the prize also belongs to Yves Grafenhorst, our goalkeeping coach Antoni Parecki and the staff, to whom I simply dedicate it,” said the 41-year-old. As in the previous year, the SC Magdeburg team was voted Team of the Year.

Handball Bundesliga Homepage SC Magdeburg Twitter SC Magdeburg Facebook SC Magdeburg YouTube SC Magdeburg German Handball Federation