It’s no secret that more and more people are eating vegan food – and statistics even prove it. Due to the continuous expansion of the range of plant-based alternatives, it is now easier than ever to buy comparable ingredients in the supermarket: Whether milk or butter, there are numerous vegan substitutes to choose from. And these can also be used to make sweet delicacies, such as in traditional Easter lamb. Find out where the tradition came from and how to prepare the recipe in the next section.

In Christianity, Easter celebrates the resurrection of Jesus Christ, who, according to the New Testament, is also referred to as the “Lamb of God” (John 1:29). Accordingly, this animal symbolism is said to be a reason for how the tradition – the baking of Easter lambs – came about. The so-called image bread is symbolic of Jesus and the calendar event. You can read here how to prepare the classic recipe. Find out below how a vegan alternative can be baked.

To prepare a vegan version of the traditional Easter lamb, you first need the following (purely plant-based) ingredients:

Tip: You can also use the same ingredients for a bunny mold.

Tip: In addition to the icing sugar, you can cover the lower part of the Easter lamb (or Easter bunny) with vegan chocolate.

If you don’t want to bake a vegan Easter lamb, there are many more motifs that revolve around the traditional festival. How about, for example, an ordinary springform pan that has two different motif bases: a lamb and a rabbit. Alternatively, you can also bake vegan muffins: this springform pan comes with pre-punched Easter motifs: a tulip, a ladybug and an Easter egg. Or you can bake a vegan cake in a classic Easter egg shape – but to make a whole egg, you have to bake two halves and connect them together.

Those: PETA

This article contains so-called affiliate links. Further information are available here.