FC Augsburg is the third Bundesliga club to be eliminated in the first round of the DFB Cup.

After Werder Bremen and VfL Bochum, the Swabians lost 0:2 (0:1) at third division SpVgg Unterhaching. Mathias Fetsch (28th minute) and Boipelo Mashigo (90.4) scored the goals for the former Bundesliga club. Otherwise, the favorites prevailed – albeit sometimes with difficulty.

Unpleasant scenes in Leipzig

Eintracht Frankfurt won 7-0 (1-0) at regional league club 1. FC Lokomotive Leipzig. There were ugly scenes in the stands when firecrackers and pyrotechnics flew in the direction of the field. The match had to be interrupted for more than ten minutes in the second half, referee Michael Bacher sent both teams into the dressing room for more than ten minutes when the score was 3-0 for the Hessians. A large contingent of police was sent into the interior. The goals for Frankfurt were scored by Kolo Muani (37′), Mario Götze (59′), Omar Marmoush (66′), Eric Dina Ebimbe (86’/90′ 14′) and Jessic Ngankam (89’/90′ 10′).

Champions League participants 1. FC Union Berlin showed the regional league team FC-Astoria Walldorf 4-0 (3-0) in the first half. Robin Knoche (29’/penalty), Sheraldo Becker (38′), Diogo Leite (41′) and Janik Haberer (80′) were successful for Urs Fischer’s capital city team. Also in the evening, second division club SC Paderborn celebrated a 7:0 (3:0) against regional division club Energie Cottbus. Second division club FC Hansa Rostock only advanced 3-0 on penalties against FSV Frankfurt from the Regionalliga Südwest.

Freiburg wins despite a weak second half

After a weak first half, SC Freiburg managed to win 2-0 (0-0) against Oberliga club SV Oberachern. Christian Günter (60th) and Roland Sallai (77th) made the decision. With this, the team of coach Christian Streich prevented an end, like the league rivals Bremen (2: 3 at third division Viktoria Köln) and Bochum (1: 4 on penalties at third division Arminia Bielefeld) had overtaken on Saturday.

VfL Wolfsburg had no problems with TuS Makkabi Berlin in the upper division and won 6-0 (2-0). Lukas Nmecha (8th), Jonas Wind (9th), Tiago Tomas (54th/89th), Yannick Gerhardt (57th) and Ridle Baku (79th) scored against the Jewish club from the capital, which was in the competition for the first time was there. Oberliga club Rostocker FC also had no chance at the premiere, having lost 8-0 (5-0) to newly promoted Bundesliga team 1. FC Heidenheim.

On the other hand, three-time cup winners Hamburger SV had trouble. The third-placed team in the second division only won 4:3 (3:3, 1:1) against the third division team Rot-Weiss Essen in extra time. Laszlo Benes (117th) made the acclaimed decision late at HSV after Essen had equalized a Hamburg lead three times before.

Second division club 1. FC Kaiserslautern advanced to the next round with a 5-0 (3-0) win at top division club FC Rot-Weiss Koblenz, and league rivals Fortuna Düsseldorf also won 3-1 (2-1) at Bavarian regional league club FV Illertissen.